Click here to join our 150th anniversary celebration

The Infants' Home Board of Directors

The Infants' Home is governed by a voluntary, independent Board of Directors


The Infants’ Home is committed to good governance and meeting our obligations as a charitable organisation. We comply with the governance standards for charitable organisations established by the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) and the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Not-For-Profit Governance Principles. 

Mary Verschuer


Mary is an experienced non-executive director currently on the board of Maxiparts (ASX:MXI) and Forestry Corporation of NSW. She has experience in audit and risk and people committees. Prior executive roles included CEO and President with global scope across a range of industries, including engineering, mining services and packaging. She has extensive experience in developing and executing strategy and integrating acquisitions. Mary was on our Board from 2008 to early 2015, returning in 2017. Member since 2016 (with a period of absence in 2015-16).

Sarah Michael
Vice President


Sarah is a registered nurse with over 40 years’ experience in the health sector in hospital, government and private sector roles and currently holds a senior management position in Clinical Governance and Safety at St Vincent’s Health Australia, the largest Catholic not-for-profit healthcare provider in Australia. Sarah has specific expertise in clinical governance, compliance and risk, policy development, organisational change, benchmarking, reporting and more recently development and oversight of organisational COVID-19 response plans. Member since 2017.

David Jarjoura


David is a Chair, Finance & Audit Committee Member, Managing & Non-Executive Director with over twenty-five years of executive and board level experience in the public, commercial & not for profit sectors. This includes time as a Non-Executive Director of MyHouse where he led strategic development and business restructuring. As a Chair and Director of Challenge North Shore he contributed to the development and identification of supported employment opportunities within the local community. He currently has a portfolio of board appointments and experience of providing consultancy services to various clients. Member since 2022.

Hilary Johnston-Croke

M.Ed, B.Sc (Hons), PGCE, Grad. Dip (Theology), GAICD

Hilary is one of Australia’s most experienced educators, with extensive governance and professional experience in the Early Childhood, Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sectors. A scientist and educator by training, she has a professional background as teacher and educational leader with over two decades spent as a school principal. Hilary is currently a Non-Executive Director of the boards of The University of Notre Dame Australia and the Alannah and Madeline Foundation, Melbourne, as well as Chair of the Advisory Committee for the Global Leaders Program, University of Wollongong. She is former Principal/CEO of Kincoppal-Rose Bay School and a former Deputy President of the Association of Independent Girls School (NSW). Hilary is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Member since 2017.

Melissa Collins


Melissa is an executive leader with demonstrated success in facilitating transformational business and cultural change, proven governance capability and a passion to really make a difference in both not-for-profit and commercial environments. After two decades in management consulting and financial services, Melissa made the switch to the for-purpose sector working with dynamic charitable organisations. Melissa has significant experience in delivering projects, leading change and general management. She is mum to a small child and is an Inner West resident who is grateful for the services The Infants’ Home provides to her local community. Member since 2022.

Melly Sah Bandar

MSc, BA (Accounting), CPA (Indonesia), MAICD

Melly joined The Infants’ Home Board of Director in November 2023. She has a broad background and strong foundation in strategic commercial and financial planning, reporting and digital transformational programs and change management. She has extensive experience in audit and risk and investment committees. Melly has over 20 years’ experience in delivering business and digital transformational projects and has consulted extensively in this area for ASX50 companies, government, and state-owned corporations. Melly has worked in Australia, New Zealand, USA and Indonesia. Member since 2023.

Yash Sodhi

MBA, BCom(Finance), GAICD

Yash is a senior executive with a track record of transformation in roles spanning strategy, M&A and finance. He has served on regulated boards through periods of change including strategy formulation, regulatory change, M&A and technology migration. As an executive, Yash has served in senior roles across a range of industries including health, insurance and asset management. He has also worked in investment banking and advised Boards and Executive teams on corporate and capital markets transactions. Yash is currently Chief Strategy Officer at Medibank and previously served as Chief Financial Officer at Challenger Funds Management. Yash is an inner west resident and father to a young child. Member since 2023.

Peter Wallace

BCom (Accounting&Finance), ACA, MBA, FAICD, FGIA

Peter has over 25 years’ experience as a company director and has been a director of over 30 groups of companies in a range of industries including distribution, financial services, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing and retail. Peter’s career spans private equity, corporate advice, non-executive directorships and financial control. He has primarily worked with emerging growth companies providing sound, independent, creative and experienced counsel. He is currently non-executive chairman of ASX listed Ambertech Limited and non-executive director of The Executive Connection Pty Limited and Carte Blanche Australia Pty Limited. Member since 2023.

Celebrate The Infants' Home's 150th anniversary with us

Subscribe to our mailing list to ensure you're part of every celebratory moment.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.