& Events


The Infants' Home AGM, May 16 2018

- May 17, 2018

The Infants' Home's 143rd Annual General Meeting was held on 16th May, 2018

Our AGM is a great opportunity to welcome members and guests, to reflect on achievements of the past year, note Board appointments, present our accounts, celebrate staff excellence in the presentation of our annual staff awards and hear from guest speakers on pertinent sector topics. Following that, we all enjoy afternoon tea and chatting on the main lawn. We thank all attendees.

Annual General Meeting

Formal proceedings included the presentation and adoption of the 2017 Annual Report and Audited Financial Report, and the elections of the Governing Body, and Honorary Appointments.

Our President Mary Verschuer spoke about the change that has occurred during 2017. She acknowledged the contributions of Lynn Farrell, Catherine Hunter and Joan Wilson, and Board Directors Leah Fricke and Denise Taylor who left the organisation in 2017. She welcomed Marlene Shepherd and Janice Francis to the Leadership team, and thanked Mariam Christodoulos for stepping up to support the organisation during this time of transition.

Mary farewelled Carolyn Swindell who is leaving the Board, and officially welcomed Dr Peter Hendy, Hilary Johnston-Croke and Sarah Michael who have joined the Board.  Mary also spoke of the year to come with our focus on our new Strategic Plan and her confidence in and admiration of the staff at The Infants’ Home. Lindsay Smartt, our Treasurer, discussed the 2017 financial report.

We encourage our supporters to read our 2017 Annual Report for further information on the year that was 2017. 

Kirsten addresses the crowd, and receives flowers as thanks from our President Mary.

Guest Speaker: beyondblue ambassador Kirsten Hanson.

Simone Hayes, Allied Health Director, introduced our special guest spearker Kirsten Hanson. Simone spoke about the work that we do, our use of Circle of Security with children and families to help address anxiety in early childhood, and the importance of our post-natal support program and services.

Kirsten spoke about her battle with depression and anxiety following the birth of her children, and the debilitating affect it had on her. Her story highlighted the internal struggle she faced and its impact on her relationship with her baby and those around her. She spoke of the strategies she continues to deploy to overcome these challenges and live a joyful life. Kirsten’s aim is to raise awareness about depression and anxiety and reduce the stigma attached to mental health.

Staff receive excellence and service awards.

Staff Service and Excellence Awards

Service awards were presented to staff who met career milestones with The Infants’ Home in 2017:

5 Years of Service

Mate Borovac,  Wendy Le

10 Years of Service

Sreedevi Koduri,  Lina Marrone, Catherine Mitchell

20 Years of Service

Thu Zar Bo, Sonia Bustillo

Vasuki Manjunathan

FDC Educators with 5 Years of Service

Leelian Oey, Lisa Saltmarsh

Meio Anderson, Rita Salib

Selina Sultana

The annual Excellence Awards are an opportunity to formally recognise those who go above and beyond in their contribution to The Infants’ Home and the community we serve. These awards are peer nominated, and all staff were invited to participate by nominating their colleagues. We presented four Excellence Awards for work in 2017.


Presented to

Excellence in Customer Service

This award recognises the individual or team that has delivered outstanding service to stakeholders. Stakeholders include: children, families, customers, donors, partners, and colleagues.

Georgia Pagano

Administration Officer

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

This award recognises the positive contribution made by an individual or team towards supporting equity, diversity and inclusion.

Justine Tarrant

Occupational Therapist

Excellence in People Management

This award recognises the Manager that has delivered enhanced performance of a team.

Susie Wilkins

FDC Inner West Hub Coordinator

Excellence in Teamwork and Collaboration

This Award recognises the team that has worked collaboratively to achieve an outstanding result for a customer or in the workplace.


The Integrated Team of Johnson House and Allied Health:

Alicia Olles, Amy Jones, Catherine Fauth, Cristina Sabato, Fen Xu, Jannatul Mowa, Jenny Piccin, Justine Tarrant, Komal Patel, Madhu Kumari,  Mariam Christodoulos, Meryl Burn, Nevenka Nekich,  Sabreena Akbal, Simone Hayes, Sreedevi Koduri

Staff and guests enjoy afternoon tea and a chat after the AGM.

site by Still Moving Design