& Events


2015 AGM: Marking 140 years of making a difference in the lives of children and families

- May 21, 2015

This week we welcomed our friends, supporters, staff and Board Directors to mark the passing of our 140th year at our annual AGM.


(L) Karen Dashwood of Murray House receives an Excellence Award in Quality from The Infants' Home Chair Denise Taylor, (R) Staff and guests mingle over afternoon tea,

On Wednesday 20th May we hosted our 140th Annual General Meeting. We were pleased to welcome over 50 guests, including our Board Directors, special guest and presenter Professor Deborah Harcourt, and staff, supporters and friends of The Infants’ Home to help mark our 140th year of continuous service to children and families, especially those living in vulnerable or disadvantaged circumstances.

Formal proceedings included the presentation and adoption of the 2014 Annual Report and Audited Financial Report and elections of the Governing Body, Honorary Appointments and Medical Officer for 2015. Guest speaker Professor Deborah Harcourt provided an inspiring presentation on the UN Convention on Rights of the Child, focusing on children's provisional, protection and participation rights.

Staff Awards

The Infants’ Home honoured staff achievements in 2014, and new categories for ‘Sustainable Practice’ and ‘Team Player’ were added to our Silver Awards.

This year’s awards went to:

Silver Awards
Rookie – Sabreena Akbal
Quiet Achiever – Suley Ramirez
Team Player - Thu Zar Bo
Sustainable Practice - Barbara Millist

Gold Awards
Leadership – Alicia Paciocco
Quality – Karen Dashwood
Meritorious – Melissa Woolfrey

Team of the Year – Robinson House (Wendy Le, Thi My Truong, Thu Zar Bo, Lata Chandra, Emily Cheng, Guo Fen X, Lesley McCarthy, Vasuki Manjunathan, Aruna Ayyadurai, Bev Speer).


Following the meeting our our guests were invited to join us for a sumptuos afternoon tea in our Heritage Dining Room. 


Guests enjoying afternoon tea: (L) Simon Cook and Rick Wayde from Wests Ashfield Leagues Club, (R) The Infants' Home's John Shen and Barbara Millist. Barbara was innaugural winner of the Sustainable Practice Award. 


site by Still Moving Design