& Events


Our 139th AGM: Marking a Momentous Year of Change and Growth

- May 22, 2014

The Infants' Home’s 139th Annual General Meeting was held on 21 May, 2014

We welcomed our Board members, distinguished guests, staff, supporters and friends to our main lawn to mark the passing of this remarkable year, in which we saw our long term plan of building a state of the art  integrated Early Education and Care Centre come to fruition with the opening of the new Centre in July 2013.

After the formal proceedings, which included the presentation and adoption of the 2013 Annual Report and Audited Financial Report and the elections of the Governing Body, Honorary Appointments and a Medical Officer for 2014, we heard presentations from a guest speaker and researchers on the Changing Life Trajectories project.


(L to R): The Infants' Home CEO, Anita Kumar and President Denise Taylor, and The Hon. Carmel Tebbutt MP officiate at the AGM

Changing Life Trajectories
Mr Andrew McCallum AM, CEO of the Association of Children’s Welfare Agencies (ACWA), and researchers Dr Robert Urquhart and Dr George Matheson spoke about the Changing Life Trajectories research project. This project, which was conducted over a number of years, was co-funded by The Infant’s Home, The United Way Sydney, the University of New South Wales (UNSW) and ACWA, and examined postnatal service delivery models for new mothers experiencing social isolation.

The research findings are outlined in the Changing Life Trajectories report.

(L to R): Andrew McCallum AM, Dr Robert Urquhart and Dr George Mathseson presented on the Changing Life Trajectories project

Staff Awards
Once again The Infants’ Home honoured the achievements of our staff in 2013. The Hon. Carmel Tebbutt MP, Member for Marrickville, presented awards to the following staff members:

Silver Awards
Rookie – Vincent Chen
Quiet Achiever – Mate Borovac

Gold Awards
Leadership – Mariana Raukawa
Quality – Randwick FDC team (Allison Bligh, Barbara Millist, Catherine Hunter, Lisa Chen, Vincent Chen)
Meritorious – Vin Christanto
Team of the Year – Rigby House (Ana Franco, Asima Khan, Leila Ebrahimi, Nahida Ali, Nicole Porteous, Priya Christian, Roshan Rajgopal, Rosiane Parsons, Vicki Li)

(L to R) Lisa Chen, Councillor Jeanette Wang (Ashfield Council), Maria Rodrigues (15 years service family day care), Vin Christanto, Barbara Millist, Frances Hanna (10 years service early childhood education centres), CEO Anita Kumar, The Hon. Carmel Tebbutt MP, Ana Franco, Leila Ebrahimi, Rosiane Parsons, Anna Parra (23 years service family day care)


Two of our native friends dropped by during the proceedings

site by Still Moving Design